Past Photos

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is Emily Hatch, and I am a sophomore at Brigham Young University-Idaho studying Communications with an emphasis in Advertising. Originally from California, I’ve been in Rexburg, Idaho for the last few years. Years ago, when I was a student in Junior High, my parents gave me a simple point-and-shoot camera. With this little red camera, I would take pictures of everything, though my focus was on the insects found in the backyard.

As High School came around, I changed my photography focus to event photography. I loved to capture the moments of successful plays in sports or people dancing in Airband shows.  It was spontaneous, as their facial features weren’t forced. The photographs were simply of people having fun. From sophomore to senior year of high school, I took Photography as my elective class. There, I learned the basics of Adobe Photoshop, as well as how to use the settings on my camera, how to properly frame a shot, etc. In my first year of college, I took a Visual Communication Course which went more in depth into the Adobe programs (Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop). In addition to learning about the programs, we were taught about color schemes, fonts, values and colors, and more. Now in a Digital Imaging class, I hope to use this information as a foundation and build up my knowledge and skills in photography.

 

These examples of my past work are a combination of landscapes and portraits. The landscape images have minor edits; most edits are adjusting the color balance or editing out distractions such as trash. As for the portraits, edits include color balance, fixing the backgrounds, and performing a light edit on the subjects.

Leave a Reply

