Aperture

Stadium: 05-06-2017, 8:37 pm, Rexburg: FL: 50 mm; f/22; 1/25; Canon T3

To show the large aperture, I decided to go to the top of the football stadium and take a picture of the steps leading down to the field. To balance having such a large aperture, I needed to keep my shutter speed relatively slow. This became difficult as the weather was cloudy instead of sunny, so it took a few shots before everything came together.

Football Field: 05-06-2017, 8:48 pm, Rexburg: FL: 50 mm; f/20; 1/30; Canon T3

This image was originally going to be for the lower aperture. The goal was to have one number in focus with the rest out-of-focus. But after a couple of shots, I tried it with a larger aperture and decided to go with it. As with the first image, the weather was cloudy, making it difficult to get the settings balanced at first. But with a large aperture and low shutter speed, the image became balanced.

Room: 06-09-2017, 12:12 am, Bannack: FL:50mm; f/18; 1/25; Canon T3

For this image, I decided to use a high aperture setting in order to capture the details in the doors to the sides, as well as the window and small wood area in front. In order to capture all of the detail as well as the right lighting, this became a HDR image (taking an underexposed, exposed, and exposed image and combining). More examples of HDR images are in my ‘Bannack-Fine Art’ post.

Ladybug and Tree: 05-03-2017, 10:36 pm, Rexburg: FL: 50 mm; f/5.6; 1/160; Canon T3

With this image, it is easy to see the lower aperture setting. The ladybug and bunch of flowers in the middle are in focus, and the rest of the image gradually becomes out-of-focus. Because the lower aperture brought in so much light, I had to balance it with a faster shutter speed and lower ISO.

Red Flower: 05-03-2017, 10:42 pm, Rexburg: FL: 50 mm; f/5.6; 1/50; Canon T3

This image not only shows the lower aperture, but also follows the rule of thirds. With a lower aperture, only the flower is in focus, with even the leaves becoming blurry. This is because I took the shot farther away, and used my zoom to make the foreground more focused.

2 thoughts on “Aperture

  1. Wow I love these images. I especially enjoy the one with the numbers on the ground of the football field. I love the composition of it. I also love the red flower the colors and angle really make the photo stand out.

    Like

  2. These are awesome Emily! I love the stadium shot. I’m terrible at editing, so I hesitate to say it, but maybe edit that one a little so that the 50 yard lines up with the post at the bottom? (I am so bad at editing. I don’t know how feasible that is.) These look great though. I never would have thought to shoot the flowers from the top looking down in. Creative. Awesome job. If you haven’t seen it yet, you should take a look at Megan’s photos. She did a great job too!

    https://megancristblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/09/depth-of-field-deep-and-shallow/

    Like

Leave a Reply

